Blogging #101 ‘Be Inspired by the Neighbours’

Whatever it is, it’s not so bad…

Bear with me today as I attempt to complete today’s assignment! Sleep did not come easy last night, for the second night in a row, I tossed and turned and my mind wandered to far off places as I churned over many ideas – creative and innovative thoughts that I hope I remember today.

Sleep, or lack thereof; being the topic that slapped me in the face today when I awoke ……..reminded me of a post I had read in the last few days at Whatever it is, it’s not so bad…and I have to say it prompted me to think about the many and varied reasons why we sometimes fail to get that magical seven to nine hours of glorious, restorative and invigorating sleep!

Sleep, by definition http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sleep, “is controlled by the circadian clock, sleep-wake homeostasis, and in humans, within certain bounds, willed behavior. The circadian clock—an inner timekeeping, temperature-fluctuating, enzyme-controlling device—works in tandem with adenosine, a neurotransmitter that inhibits many of the bodily processes associated with wakefulness. Adenosine is created over the course of the day; high levels of adenosine lead to sleepiness.”

Lack of sleep therefore, can lead to the following effects of “Sleep deprivation”.

450px-Effects_of_sleep_deprivation

Fortunately for me, I’m not prone to insomnia, even though it does affect other members of my family. I often wonder how people in general cope with lack of sleep ongoingly. I, like most people have felt the impact it can have on your working day when after a restless night of the mind ticking over, downloading & venting the previous days events and morphing them into lucid dreams that come and go during my nightly sleep cycle, apparently of their own accord and without any deliberate prompting from me!!

Sleep or Lack thereof! Well its Friday, so tonight seems like an opportunity to enjoy a sleep inducing glass or two of my favourite Aravina Estate SSB and hopefully a more restful night………….Hmm!!

One thought on “Blogging #101 ‘Be Inspired by the Neighbours’

Leave a Reply

